FABA Special Award

Federation of Asian Biotech Associations (FABA) is a nonprofit society, which represents 20 Asian countries with a common interest in promoting human health through advances in Biotechnology. FABA, with its humble beginning in 2004, has achieved a significant landmark in creating a platform for interaction among member countries and discuss the issues of common interest for improving the biotech space including technology transfer, resource sharing, business collaborations, Industry-Academia linkage, cross border trade and investments, etc. among its member countries.

In order to recognize and honour eminent personalities for their longtime contributions to Biotechnology and Lifesciences sector, FABA instituted the "FABA Special Award" in BioAsia 2010.

Recipient history of FABA Special Award includes

Prof. Premkumar Reddy

Founder, Onconova Therapeutics & Director, Experimental Cancer Therapeutics Institute, Mount Sinai School of Medicine


Dr. Patrick Vallance

President R&D, GlaxoSmithKline, UK


Dr. Dennis Gillings

Executive Chairman, Quintiles Inc., USA

Dr. Cyrus Poonawala

Chairman & Managing Director, Serum Institute of India Ltd., India.


Dr. Mahendra Rao

Director, Centre for Regenerative Medicine, NIH, USA

Dr. William D. Dar

Director General International Crops Research Institute for the Semi-Arid Tropics (ICRISAT), Hyderabad, India


Dr. Vijay Kumar Datla

Chairman and Managing Director, Biological E Limited, Hyderabad, India


Mr. Cyrus P. Mistry

Chairman, Tata Group of Companies, Mumbai, India

MedTrack, NY, USA


Mr. D. S. Brar

Chairman, GVK BioSciences, Hyderabad, India

Dr. Roger Williams

CEO, US Pharmacopeia, USA

Dr. Anwar Nasim

Chairman, National Commission on Biotechnology, Pakistan and Founder President of FABA, Pakistan


Dr. Ajit Shetty

Corporate Vice President, Worldwide Operations, Johnson & Johnson, New Jersey, USA

Dr. Manel Balcells

President, Biocat, Barcelona, Spain